Spiritual Colors – The Difference Between Auras and Chakras

Spiritual Colors - The Difference Between Auras and ChakrasTo understand the meaning of spiritual colors, we must first understand the terms Auras and Chakras and the basic differences thereof. The topic related to spiritual colors is simply too vast; one cannot explain Auras and Chakras in a simplified manner without taking up hundreds of pages. Hence, in this guide, we shall stick to the basics and try and simplify the concepts related to spiritual colors.

What are spiritual colors associated with Auras and Chakras?

Each of us is born with a set of spiritual colors. Spiritual colors are present even in the fetus while it is still developing in the womb.

Our physical body mainly consists of millions of cells, each of which is vibrating at a slow rate and giving off certain amount of energy. Surrounding this physical body is another lighter and finer body of energy that vibrates at a greater rate than those of our cells. This constitutes our Aura. Thus, simply explained, the Aura is to our physical body what the atmosphere is to Earth. Aura can be defined as a field of energy or light that surrounds every physical body on this planet. Each and every individual on the Earth has an Aura that comes in various colors called the spiritual colors of the Aura. These spiritual colors vary based on the state the aura is in. Thus, auras are capable of showing diseases and lack of health or balance in an individual. The Aura can be considered as a ‘mirror’ that reveals our present mental, physical and spiritual state.

Like Auras, Chakras also come with specific spiritual colors. The word Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit language meaning spinning vortexes of energy. These vortexes or pools of energy lie inside our physical bodies. There are 7 main Chakras, each connected to a major organ and located along the spine. The Chakras are ‘power stations’ of the body, in that; they are responsible for distributing the energy throughout the body.

The Auras and Chakras together constitute the spiritual colors of an individual. Both Chakras and Auras are vital to an individual’s health and well being. Both these channels of energy can get ‘clogged’ due to stress or illness and impact overall health. Certain forms of meditation, Reiki, Tai Chi and other sciences from across the world help relieve blocked Chakras and purify Auras to restore health and well being.

Main difference between Auras and Chakras and the spiritual colors associated with them

Some people are gifted with the sight of seeing Auras and chakras. Expert Chakra seer Erin Pavlina classifies different personality types based on the Aura and Chakra spiritual colors in order to connect people to their ‘spiritual guides’. Doing so can help the individual maximize his/her potential and live a life full of happiness and well being.

According to Erin, the size, thickness and shape of the auras and chakras identify many things about a person. Stronger and powerful the Aura, more alluring or fascinating the individual is. An example she gives here is that of politicians and orators having strong abilities to pull crowds. Erin also goes on to describe the major difference between Auras and Chakras: The Aura spiritual colors change with one’s mood and intent but the chakras spiritual colors are more deeply anchored and remain constant. Only a major life event can change the color of one’s Chakras. Furthermore, Auras are on the outside while Chakras are internal. Erin mainly views the Chakra spiritual colors of her clients in order to identify the roots of their problems.

Here are the main spiritual colors for Auras and Chakras.

Spiritual colors of Auras

The spiritual colors indicated by one’s healthy Aura reflect the personality traits of an individual. These spiritual colors include:

  • Deep Red Aura – Hard working, vitality, energy
  • Red Aura – Sexuality, competitive spirit, winner
  • Orange – Adventure, business
  • Orange yellow Aura – Academic, logical, scientific
  • Yellow Aura – Sunny, energetic and creative
  • Green Aura – Social, harmonious, teachers
  • Deep green Aura – Goal oriented, good organizational skills
  • Blue Aura – Caring, loyal, sensitive
  • Indigo Aura – Calm, clear, artistic, introverted
  • Violet Aura – Sensual, charismatic
  • Lavender Aura – Fragile, imaginative, sensitive
  • White Aura – Transcendent, spiritual and quiet

Spiritual colors of the Chakras

Likewise, the spiritual colors of the chakras also have specific meaning. The 7 Chakras spiritual colors tell the individual’s life story to the seer.

  • Crown Chakra – Violet – Associated with peace, wisdom
  • Third Eye Chakra – Indigo – Associated with intuition, devotion
  • Throat Chakra – Blue – Ability to verbalize
  • Heart Chakra – Green – Expression of love, soul/heart consciousness
  • Solar Plexus – Yellow – Assimilation, digestion and motivation and goals
  • Sacral/Naval Chakra – Orange – Procreation and creativity
  • Base/Root Chakra – Red – Physical activity, emotional strength etc.

Knowledge of Chakras and Auras as well as the individual’s spiritual colors can help one produce a more balanced energy through the body which, in turn, can help maintain health, happiness and well being.


  1. Vineetha says:

    My aura colour is yellow green and all chakras were open except the base chakra. When I do meditation, crown chakra, third eye and throat heart open but not base chakra, why is that?

  2. I really got a lot out of viewing this website. The information is so very well thought out and formatted to be user friendly. Thank You for sharing the wealth of your wisdom.

Speak Your Mind